ataraxia's Net Worth for April 2019


Assets Value Change ($) Change (%)
Cash $864,374 $386,180 80.76%
Stocks $2,332,117 $70,692 3.13%
Bonds $2,943,852 $21,797 0.75%
Annuities $0 - -
Retirement $0 - -
Home $891,000 - -
Other Real Estate $0 - -
Cars $0 - -
Personal Property $0 - -
Other Assets $0 - -
$7,031,343 $478,669 7.30%
 
Debts Value Change ($) Change (%)
Home Mortgage(s) $0 - -
Other Mortgage(s) $0 - -
Student Loans $0 - -
Credit Cards $39,565 $32,774 482.61%
Car Loans $0 - -
Other Debts $2,703,998 ($885,934) (24.68%)
Total Debts $2,743,563 ($853,160) (23.72%)
Net Worth $4,287,780 $1,331,829 45.06%
*All values shown in USD ($)
Notes:
I almost don't want to write a comment for this month but I feel like the numbers are clearly super strange.

The big inflow for the month was around 1m USD which came as a result of my mom's apartment being sold. The proceeds were given to the kids which I used to pay down the money I owed for my home. Also, I am realizing because of the way I copied the data for here from my spreadsheet and how data was stored in my spreadsheet, instead of being under "Home Mortgage", the money I owed for my apartment has been categorized under "Other Debt"

Without this, it would have still been an amazing month for both bonds and stocks. A fair number of dividends and semi-annual coupons were also paid this month resulting in the high cash figure.

The embarrassing part: With the month being both flush with cash personally yet stressful in the business, I took a weekend to escape to the casinos. Gambling is something I'm not too proud of but has been an escape of mine for some while. Despite my worst instincts, I managed to quit while I was ahead to enjoy the rest of the trip. For my type of betting and games, I experienced an 86th percentile trip (if i tried the same trip again with the same amount of money 100 times, 86 of those times I would leave with less money than this), so that was really good. It further pushed cash way up this month.

I have a promotional time deposit at 5% that I can park up to 250k in for a month that I'll probably do for a month. After that month I'll either pay down some of my "Other Debts" or purchase more IG bonds at around 4% yield. (My other debt cost of borrowing is around 1.7% a year right now)

Comments